My First Brushes with Sexism

By Talia bat Pessi (Star of Davida):

What makes a person sexist – his or her parents? Friends? Religion? Society? The media?

I know it sounds like an essay question, but it’s a conversation I initiate with anyone who’s
willing to discuss it. If feminists’ goal is to end sexism, then to effectively eradicate it, we
have to find the source and work from there. In order to figure out where I first absorbed sexist
attitudes, I tried to think back to my first encounters with sexism.

I remember the first time was sometime in kindergarten. My class was coming back to the
classroom from the gym, so three boys and I decided to surprise everyone by getting there first
and greeting them when they came in. (Later when I worked at a day camp, a camper did this to
us, so I figured I was paid back for torturing my teachers like this.) After several minutes, the
teachers came into the classroom, frantically looking for the four of us. They yelled at us. A lot. I
distinctly remember staring at the floor in shame, fidgeting with the ruffles in my red Lands’ End
dress. Then one of the boys’ parents who always hung around the school admonished us.

“That was a very bad thing the three of you did,” he said, obviously referring to my three male
cohorts. “Or should I say the four of you!”

The intimidated five-year-old me didn’t say anything, but I remember thinking, I did the same
thing as them. Why shouldn’t I be included in the punishment just because I’m a girl?

The next sexist experience I can remember was in fifth grade. Our regular teacher was out, so
we had a substitute. He supervised while we did the work that the teacher left. Since I work
extremely fast, I finished pretty quickly.

“There’s no way you’re done,” he said to me when I asked him what to do. “Sit back down and
finish.”

“But I’m done,” I said, exasperated.

“No, you’re not,” he said, and I went back to my seat and checked over my very much finished
work. A few minutes later, a boy said that he finished his work. The teacher believed him.

Based on my personal memories, parents and teachers are instigators of sexism; however, I’m
just one person, an urban upper-middle class white female. I’m sure others, both from similar
and different backgrounds as mine, would have completely divergent experiences with sexism.
All in all, though, I’m glad I can only think of a couple real encounters with sexism from my
childhood. I’m still upset that such things happened at all. I was always a strong girl; my mom
raised me with the mindset that girls can do anything. I remember proclaiming girls’ superiority
to boys’ often to my male classmates. Because of my pride in my femininity, I wasn’t terribly
affected by my brushes with sexism.

What about the girls who weren’t raised as proud of their gender as I was, though? What about
the girls who internalize the sexism they encounter? What happens to them?

6 Comments on “My First Brushes with Sexism”

  1. PPC says:

    My buddy and That i has become only just looking at ones relatively element, he’s oftentimes endeavouring to make sure you provide evidence of each person drastically wrong. Ones own eyesight using this will be outstanding along with everything that techniques I’m. I just now at present internet based sent my mate this web site to point out to it cannot view. In the past disregarding your website I long been economizing and you will be choosing its own in the past to determine to find out ones own refreshes!

  2. Mattie says:

    These pieces raelly set a standard in the industry.

  3. Alexandra says:

    This article is a home run, pure and simlpe!

  4. xiaorr456 says:

    I was very excited to see this site. I wanted to thanks for this great article! I definitely enjoying every little bit of it and I have you bookmarked to check out new stuff you post.

  5. renren876 says:

    Im not easily impressed. . . but thats impsersnig me!

    • Manase says:

      Because they can get away with it; they have thousands of siatisttcians in their employ, and as we all know, statistics can be warped, manipulated, and spun to prove almost anything. It\’s the same reason they charge poor people more than wealthy people, both by rating you based on where you live and your credit score- neither of which have anything to do with whether or not you\’re a good, safe driver. Even ageism is dubious, and regressive; a kid that flips burgers for a living pays several times as much as a middle aged woman who should have a nest egg equal to several times the kid\’s annual salary. Yeah, the kid has less experience, but he probably has fewer toys in the car to distract him, and we\’re supposed to live in a nation where we\’re not punished for the actions of others.As an example, I moved from a relatively poor area of a wealthy (mostly white) city, where I parked on the street a block from a major commercial strip, a quarter mile from a freeway, to a relatively wealthy suburban area of a poor (mostly black) zip code where I park in a locked attached garage, yet my rate jumped 20% overnight. No volume of statistics and bar-charts will prove that I\’m at greater risk of a claim than I was before; I\’m more likely to hit a cow that wandered onto the road than to have my car stolen or vandalized. Oh, and since this is the LGBT section, isn\’t it interesting that gays and lesbians- who already subsidize the lifestyle choice of married heterosexuals in many other ways- take yet another hit from the insurance industry because an unmarried partner doesn\’t qualify as a spouse , and a partner\’s child cannot be listed as a dependent in states like Michigan where second-parent adoption is not an option?


Leave a Reply

