Post-Potter Stress Disorder

By Sophie Rae

Me standing next to giant Harry Potter billboard in SoHo.

Last week, as I purchased my tickets to see Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Part 2– I came to a sort of realization (because simply buying tickets without having it be a moment of self-discovery just doesn’t cut it in the blogosphere): I have spent 10 out of my 16 years waiting for Harry Potter. Whether it was waiting for books, movies, rumors about the books, or trailers for the movies, there has always been something Harry Potter to obsess over.

Me dressed up as Hermione for Halloween when I was 7.

After coming to this realization, I began to wonder how I would react to seeing the last movie. Would I suffer from post-Potter-stress disorder? Would I learn to move on and restore Harry to his true place as a relatively basic and slightly arrogant fictional hero? Would I find something new to obsess over?

I didn’t really manage to answer any of these questions, though I did reach the very important conclusion that I should wear water-proof mascara when seeing the movie. I knew that no matter how long or short it took me to get over Potter-syndrome, the movie itself would certainly be very emotional. Not only would I be saying goodbye to characters I have known and loved for practically my whole life, I would be (ok, I give you all permission to laugh) saying goodbye to my childhood. If I think about it, I can chronicle my whole childhood through Harry Potter. I can remember having the Sorcerer’s Stone read to me by my first grade teacher. I remember my dad putting me to sleep reading the Chamber of Secrets and Prisoner of Azkaban and what a big deal it was when I read Goblet of Fire on my

Hermione punching Malfoy. Yesss

own. I dressed up as Hermione for Halloween for two years in a row, I spent hours acting out scenes from the books with my friends, my personal favorite being from the first book when Harry goes to Diagon Alley to pick up his school supplies (I have a thing for school supplies). I replayed the super bad-ass Hermione-Malfoy punch in Goblet of Fire on DVD about fifty times. Last year, my friend and I even exchanged light-up wands as gifts for the holidays (because buying yourself a wand is too much, even for me).

Seven expedited book-shippings, eight manic midnights, and many tears and laughs later, it is finally over. I saw the final movie at 12:07 (12:00, 12:01, 12:02, and so on, were all sold out), on Thursday night and loved every minute of it.

It would be nice if I were mature enough to simply admit that it’s just a story, it’s all made up, and now it’s over. But I don’t think I’m ready to do that just yet.

Alas, I have no choice but to re-read all the Harry Potter books this summer at which I point I will finally be able to say goodbye.

Unless ABC Family continues their Harry Potter weekends…

11 Comments on “Post-Potter Stress Disorder”

  1. Anonymous says:

    I remember I was on a student trip to Australia in between 9th and 10th grade when the last book came out.

    My family now has two copies of The Deathly Hallows.

    I never got swept up in the Harry Potter movie hype, and you (along with just about everyone else) are making me feel like I missed out on something. Anyway, I think it’s easy to get emotionally invested in something when it ages with you… it’s one of the reasons the Beatles were so popular, and also why all of my friends cried big fat baby tears during Toy Story 3 (which I also haven’t seen D:).
    Anyway, here will always be stuff to geek out over, so I’m sure you’ll be fine.

  2. Jim Chambers says:

    When Ron Kissed Hermione…I gasped. And, at Dobby’s grave. I was BUMMIN!

  3. joepresko says:

    The lad behind you in the Halloween pic seems to have Rupert Grint down cold.

    • Fernando says:

      Shanna!Enjoyed your comments. I love the Percy Jackson books too, and hope Rick Riordan wriets some more titles in the Camp Half-Blood series. Hope you have a good summer,Ian

  4. Guest says:

    If you want something Harry Potter related to remain obsessed over, I suggest watching A Very Potter Musical which you can find on Youtube. It is so awesome and they have A Very Potter Sequel also and they are totally awesome!

  5. Great stuff from you, man. Ive read your stuff before and youre just too awesome. I love what youve got here, love what youre saying and the way you say it. You make it entertaining and you still manage to keep it smart. I cant wait to read more from you. This is really a great blog.

  6. Luigi Fulk says:

    Traffic Dashboard
    A complete traffic system for getting 3,000 subscribers over the next 30 days. The Traffic Dashboard is a one-of-a-kind traffic platform that shows you how to point-and-click your way to increased traffic.
    Check it Out Now!

  7. The Adsense 101 Bootcamp
    Finally You Can Earn Your Dream Adsense Income!
    The Adsense 101 Bootcamp is much more than a 7 week intensive mastery course, The bootcamp is your Adsense mentor! There’s just one objective… Get you earning your dream Adsense income in as litle time as possible!
    Don’t You Owe It To Yourself To At Least Check It Out?

  8. The Adsense 101 Bootcamp
    Finally Earn Your Dream Adsense Income!
    The Adsense 101 Bootcamp is so much more than a 7 week intensive Adsense mastery course…
    The bootcamp is your Adsense mentor and there’s just one objective…
    Get you earning your dream Adsense income in as short a time as possible!
    This Is The Real Deal So Act Quick Before You Miss Your Opertunity!

  9. Tom says:

    Harry Potter will never be over, it’ll be an everlasting series.

    My kids will be reading Harry Potter, I’ll make sure of it!

    I was a bit sad when the book series finally came to an end…and it really did end too with them getting old and all 😀 HP was such a big theme in my childhood – and it’s hard letting go of that.

    Good post!

  10. Asmit says:

    I’ll certainly be ieeernsttd in what happens to the fandom after this point, especially after Pottermore, and how the fanbase will develop and change over the years.But looking at the preparations for the last film remind me of one thing: it’s been a long time.I grew up with the HP books and movies, and they helped to fire my imagination at a young age. Albus and Minerva and the Trio and Lupin and and Tonks and Moody were my companions since I was a little kid. I very literally grew up with them, from Sorcerer’s Stone to the Deathly Hallows. Looking at how far HP has come since then, I feel both nostalgic and a little sad. Then again, there’s always fanfic, and the adventure will never end!


Leave a Reply

